Brotherly wrangling – 3

20 September 1789 from Baltimore – James McCulloh to John Mcculloh

Dear John,

When last I wrote, no doubt my language was rather tran___ with the worm wood.  Such were my feelings nor do I repent one even now, but I lament the cause exceedingly.

Your letter states several things all directed to my feelings.  There indeed I am vulnerable.  Why then not make application to my bounty.  This I suppose you would conceive descending too far, but with a generous mind you would be nearer your purpose than this line you have pursued.

I send you back you’re a/c current.  Give no credit for the L30.  Your  2 1/2 excess on the late sale of tobacco to which add if your conscience tells you it is right and I will present your acct.  Indeed was I to give my opinion on the matter the L30 is sufficient for every thing you have done for us since.  But I may be partial.  Therefore act as best appears to you and let the return be as speedy as possible.

As the affair of Knox, U & McCulloh are now to be settled and I am to take charge of the winding up.  If I have life, I hope to do it in the course of 12 months and if not those who live after me must take the trouble.  In the mean time whatever be the worst, I shall not forget the practical terms you have offered and of which I accept with the fullest confidence that the treaty shall not be broken.                                                                                  Dear John your most affectionate J McCulloh

By  the first safe hand send the Certificates of K U McC and the a/c current.  Keep my certificates as I have no use for them.

McCulloh Papers, 1773-1848, Maryland Historical Society, MS 2110, microfilm reel 2, frame 240

Leave a comment