James W. McCulloh

Background:  Exactly a year from the day of his father’s death, James W. McCulloh wrote this letter to his brother.  He would have been 12 years old at the time.

13 April 1801 from Philadelphia – James W. McCulloh to Samuel McCulloh

Dear Brother,

Brother Samuel, in a letter from you some time ago, in which you mentioned there was a vacancy in one of Mr. Pierce’s dry goods stores.  That you thought it would be a more suitable situation for me than where I now am. That Mr. Pierce was willing for me to fill that vacancy.  Sammy mentioned it to Mr. Knox.  He said he had no objections to it.  I have asked Mr. Knox when it would suit him to let me go down.  Having all my things ready, he says he would like me to stay until the schooner Roun returned from Cape Francais, which he thinks will be in a week or ten days and it may be two or three weeks most likely before I could leave him.  But he says if it is necessary for me to go down this week he has no objections to it.  Therefore I would thank you to let me know by return post when it is necessary for me to be there.  I shall be guided by your reply.

Remain yours affectionately, J. W. McCulloh

NB – Sammy and Mr. Pierce’s letter return remittances in due time.  It is by request of Sammy that I write you.

McCulloh Papers, 1773-1848, Maryland Historical Society, MS 2110, microfilm reel 4, frame 38, 39

Leave a comment