Brotherly Wrangling – 6

No date – William McCulloh vs Samuel McCulloh

William sues to recover sums of money from (his father) John McCulloh’s estate

15 September 1836 from Boston – William McCulloh to James W. McCulloh

Dear Brother,

Herewith you have my power of attorney to [know] when to settle with Dr. Samuel.  I have delayed it this long on purpose to hear previously the fate of my dfs [defense] on him.  You have also a copy of my letter of 3rd isnt, also his letters to me, which is rather a curiosity.  Altho he seems quite guarded, yet it may go to know that he admits my claim as an heir to the estate.  I am very anxious that it may be swiftly to a close, especially in Mother & sisters a/c.

You mention he says in a few years he will be able to dispose of the lands to advantage.  A little money will probably be of more service ___ now than a larger sum a few years hence.  Please let me hear from you.  You can write by vessels going out from your port for Port a Prince or you can send your letters here addressed to care of Messrs Robinson & Plumer who will forward them directly.  Shall embark in three weeks for Jamaica.

Truly yours,  William McCulloh

McCulloh Papers, 1773-1848, Maryland Historical Society, MS 2110, microfilm reel 6, frame 72, 75

Leave a comment